You are here

Dynamic Coalition on Core Internet Values (DC-CIV)


The Dynamic Coalition on Core Internet Values was conceived during the IGF Workshop at Egypt ​2009​ (workshop No 319) with  ​the then Internet Society President Lynn St Amour as Chair of the Workshop,  “Workshop on Fundamentals: Core Internet Values”, which examined the questions: What is the Internet? What makes it what it is? What are its architectural principles? What are the core values? And what is happening to the core values in the process of its evolution? What is it that needs to be preserved and what changes are inevitable? What does the Internet Community say as what can’t be changed? How could changes and improvements be brought about without compromising on the core values? How would the different positions between stakeholders be reconciled to commit to the core Internet values?

After IGF Egypt ​ ​the ​ ​Dynamic Coalition on this theme ​ ​was formed, with meetings held since 2010 at every global IGF as also with topics on and around this theme during Regional IGF workshops at New Delhi, Macau as also during Internet Society Chapter meetings including at Chennai and New York.

More info on DC-CIV at:



The Dynamic Coalition plans to list and define Core Internet Values as also identify threats that need to be addressed. The Coalition members strive for a commitment to the Core Internet Values across stakeholder groups as well as to seek to define Core Internet Values as a reference standard for Internet Policy.​ The action plan is to continue work within the Internet Governance Forum framework as well as between the IGFs.



Mailing List Address: [email protected]

Mailing List Subscription Link:!forum/coreinternetvalues 



Amie Stepanovich

Janna Quitney Anderson

Alejandro Pisanty

Courtney Radsch

Daniel Dardailler

David Cake

Avri Doria

Fátima Cambronero

George Sadowsky

Ian Peter

Sivasubramanian M

Joly MacFie

Elizabeth Oluoch

Katy Pearce

Markus Kummer

Desiree Miloshevic

Nick Ashton-Hart

Nighat Dad

Olivier MJ Crepin-Leblond

Patrick Falstrom

Paul Wilson

Baronness Rennie Fritchie

Sébastien Bachollet

Lynn St.Amour

Steve Crocker

Subi Chaturvedi

Sylvia Cadena

Vint Cerf

wendy (W3)

Wolfgang Benedek​ 



Sivasubramanian Muthusamy[email protected]


Contact Information

United Nations
Secretariat of the Internet Governance Forum (IGF)

Villa Le Bocage
Palais des Nations,
CH-1211 Geneva 10

igf [at] un [dot] org
+41 (0) 229 173 411